motor issue

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
We have a 2002 mercury optimax 135 on out Nitro 750. About three weeks ago a beeping began, similiar to the alarm when you are planed up too much when running, except this was alarming while sitting still. It continued alarming intermittantly even when engine off but power on. Could not find anything wrong at time. My husband disconnected it for now so hecould fish tournaments. Now the boat will not go past idle speed. The lake he was fishing is idle only so itdidn't matter much. He has taken off the filter in case any h20 got in it with no help. Any suggestion on how to try to figure out if it is the throttle sensor. All cables are good and opening the throttle. Thanks Stephanie

Check the oil tank under the engine cover to make sure it's full.

BF

I am no expert but the times when my engine warning sound came on, I was motoring in too shallow of an area and the discharge was plugged with mud and debris and very little water was discharging. If the boat is out of the water, put the muffs on, attach a hose and turn the engine on. Stick something very small that is pin-like in the discharge hole and wiggle it around. If it is in the water, just start up the engine and carefully try to fish the pin-like device in the discharge hole - don't fall in!

If it starts to discharge water in a steadier stream, that might have been the problem - water wasn't able to go through to cool the engine and then discharge. You will probably need to run the hose for a good few minutes to get the flow going or if the boat is in water, same thing but you can take it out of idle and run the engine for a few minutes.

If I am wrong (and I probably am), someone will add to the post.

Bill, the MadKayaker