Marine service center business

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Newman

Reaction score
Let me throw this one out to the group. I have lived on a 12,000 ac lake in Illinois for 2 years now and I just pulled my deckboat back up north 2 hours to have it winterized again this year at my "trusted" boat mechanic's shop I had used for the previus 10 years because I have not found a single service tech or business around here that even comes close to the level of expertise and service found at my old place. I am still amazed that this area seems to have a severe shortage or complete lack of boat sales/service/parts location. Every place looks like Fred Sanford's yard both in/out of the building and they seem to have little interest in building new customer bases.

Here is my question. I am pretty handy and do alot of work myself. I am an mechanical engineer by eductation so the technical stuff is not a problem either. My current problem is that I have a normal career with limited time to do my own service. My wife and I keep talkig about why don't we re-create what my old service place has up north, but down here. A nice marine service center with parts and boating equipment sales. Has anyone on the forum either done this or thought about it and can give me some comments to think about? Also are there training centers in the US where you can get trained/certified for the both outboards and sterndrives? This is just a wild thought at this time, but curious to hear some feedback both pro/con.