Tachometer

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dennis K

Reaction score
One of the other small problems I am having with my boat is the tachometer will not read the correct rpm's. At idle, while going across the water at slow, medium, wot it will bounce around. I noticed Saturday at wot it bounced from 3k - 7k rpm's. Motor sounds fine. I would like to find out if the resident guru's think a new tach will fix the problem or could it possibly be another problem.

I also noticed the fuel gauge will move to read full when I am filling the livewell and move back to whatever it was reading before I started filling. I started playing with the other switches and it will do this when I hit the horn also.

The problems I am having are minor to me but I would like to get them fixed. We ended up buying the boat because the motor checked out good and ran well with no problems. And I felt like I was getting a good price. The small things I felt like I could fix.( With help/advice of course.)

Thank You,

Backlash

Sounds like someone has wired your fuel gauge in series to a main circuit. When you start another device that devices current is passed thru the gauge. I would get the wiring diagrams for your boat and take an afternoon off with a helper and check all the wiring out. Plus repair and clean the connections as I went. The tach problem is probably a loose or dirty connection.

12, 24 and 36 volt connections in a boat are a battle to keep serviceable. Moisture, heat, dry, cold, vibration, you name it. All work adversely on electrical systems. Good Luck...

I had similar problems one time and traced it to a lose ground wire under the console.

Da Bear

I would tend to agree with Da Bear. Generally, when you start having these types of electrical problems, it generally stems from a connection problem - most times the ground return.

Tex