Speak English Please

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bruce Freeman

Reaction score
OK, I DO NOT WANT to start a urinary olympic match (I still love that saying) but if you can not read, understand or speak english how do you get a job working with the general public here in America. The young lady at mcdonalds today could not sell me a cup because she did not understand that all I wanted was a large soda to go?:unsure:

BF

:lol::lol::lol:

I used to work as a night manager for Rite Aid pharmacy. One night, my cashier calls me frantically to the front of the store. "Glennnnnnn!!!!!!! I don't know exactly what this lady wants, but I'm sure that "I" can't help her!" she said, sounding extremely flustered. So I asked this lady what she wanted (found out later she was from Argentina). She said, slowly, so that I could hear her pronounciation: "Ah em looookin for some hoooh peeenus". I nearly fell on the floor. After about five minutes of coaxing the words out of her by playing a modified game of charades, I was able to determine she was "looking for some hot peanuts" (that her sister had bought in our store the day prior) - a product I was GLAD to get for her, just as long as it wasn't the other thing she was asking for. :lol::lol::lol:

Language barriers... ain't they a b****! :p

All the best,

Glenn

This is going to get only worse. I do happen to speak spanish, but I still get ticked when lazy people don't even try to make the effort to learn english. I learned what I did to respect the language of the places where I visit, much less live. But on the Mcdonalds deal this was not the counter person's fault, why would a manager put a non-english speaking person dealing with english speaking customers?

"why would a manager put a non-english speaking person dealing with english speaking customers?"