thanks for the fix tracker

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JEFF WHITE

Reaction score
thank you tracker for the work you did to my boat last year.when i get the pictured done i will e-mail them to you.

now to tell you what i found,i had a pedistal mount which looked loose in the deck,so being a mechanic/welder/riveter by trade,i pulled the deck up,which,by the way has STEEL screws holding it down,but getting back to the story at hand,pulled the deck up to put new bolts,or whatever back in to tighten it down,found something i really didint need to see/want to see EVER!!! i found the drivers pedistal mount loose,but the steel inserts not even in the deck,but loose to the point that they werent even in the wood still.the flotation foam,you know,the stuff that makes the boat float if swamped with water,well,where they did the reriveting,they cut the foam back,didi the reriveting,then never put the foam back in,oh,they did put some back in,but it didnt expand properly,lays there like cow,well,you get the picture.as i looked even closer,they pushed the broken blocks of foam down to the keel area of the bilge,you know,where the drain slots are,which allows water spray,or any water in the boat to drain to the bilge area.now the water had very little area to drain back,it,the foam now has a slime coat on it now.

now here is what i see hapening to the foam that has the skin broken on it,will absorbe water/moisture and weigh the boat down,right?that is the way i read it,as the foam we use in the refer bodies we insulate is the same stuff,and when the skin is broken,it does absorbe water,and believe me,it does weigh it down.