My new boat - 911w/225 - have Serious questions, need forums help/guidence

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jake Oleary

Reaction score
well, I finally got her ... my new 2006 911 w/225 opti.. Had her out 4 times already. still breaking her in. Doing the right thing and breaking it in by the book. However I am starting to have a few concerns. Check the picture, then read on..

theboat.jpg

ok so I have THREE questions.

1) what is the proper peg the motor/jack plate should be set at? give me as much detail as possible, I am kinda new to all this.. this question I guess ties into the question below.

2) im still breaking in the engine, I am able at this point to burst to 100% for a 5-7 secs at this point. I am not seeing much higher then 62 MPH (both GPS and Spedo). I have trimmed the engine a bit to get the speed but my boat is throwing a BIG rooster tail (much more then my 882 ever did). Granted I am only keeping it pinned for 5 seconds TOPS at this point, but I am starting to think I may be seeing top speed. Based on all the other posts out there I was under the assumption this should do 68-70. Is this becuase engine isnt at right height on jack plate or maybe even the trim is not right? Or is this because im only able to keep it pinned for 5 secs tops right now and it needs a change to clime speed.. the rooster tail has me second guessing (I have it tilted 1/4 of the way up at MOST during full throlttle and tried a lesser tilt). I am use to my 882 and it use to MAX out around this area and not throw nearly such a rooster tail..im not running a full rig (live wells empty, fairly light gear, and two guys on the light side)..compared to my 882, this is almost slower top end speed. I did 65 on my 882 w/150hp.