GPS FishFinder

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bass Tracker

Reaction score
Hi all,

I do not currently have a GPS Fishfinder but I am most likely going to purchase one soon.

I have a question about them,

I assume having a "GPS" one for the Trolling motor(bow) would be pointless. But for the dash it would be great, So

were i fish is mostly lakes, ponds, rivers, and none that would probably be on a "memory chip" that lowrance uses, So what would show up on my graph if I were in a local lake, or river that was not on the "database" of the card? Would i still be able to set waypoints and "mark" locations, and see the body of water on the map?

again i am new to the gps versions, so if my questions are dumb, i apoligize. Thanks alot

The advantage of having a GPS on the bow is fantastic - depending on how you fish. I fish a lot of large grassbeds. Seeing my position while fishing without having to run back and forth to the dash unit is a handy thing to have. Plus, if I want to mark a spot on my GPS, I simply reach down, and don't have to run back to the console to mark it.

My Lowrance 332C, 520C, and 28HD all showed lots of smaller "community lakes". I had a neighborhood pond across the street from my house that showed up on all three. I could cast completely across that lake, and it was only about 5 times as long as it was wide - so it wasn't very big at all.