Cast Iron Skillet

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Josh Creamer

Reaction score
Last night I bought a cast iron skillet at cabela's. Ive never owned one before but have heard people talk about them very favorably so I thought I should give it a shot. In the box that I got, it has instructions on how to season the skillet and all, but I wanted to know what some of the people that have them and use them a lot do to get the flavor.

Keep in mind that I have never used one of these before, and dont know how to cook, clean, season, or take care of a skillet.

Also, what all does everyone cook in a cast iron skillet? Is there anything that cooks better or more flavorful in the skillet? Any little tricks would help me out a lot as I try to get use to this new type of skillet...Thanks.

Josh

Cast iron cooking....now your talking my language!!!

I season mine with LARD....not oil or shortening....coat it generously, add a little salt, and put it in a 500 degree oven for several hours.

When you use it, DO NOT WASH WITH SOAP.....just rinse it out and wipe clean, spread a thin layer of lard in it, and it's ready to use again

EVERYTHING tastes better in cast iron!!!

A properly seasoned cast iron skillet, is a great tool. However, you will need to season it (as suggested with the instructions) first, and then just keep using it over and over.

Couple of things to remember. Cast iron retains heat very well. It heats slowly, and also cools slowly. If you put it on a burner on 'medium', it will take awhile for it to reach 'medium'.

If I was going to season it, using the instructions given, the first thing I would do is use bacon grease as the seasoner. That's just personal preference. If you use bacon grease, try not to include the 'bits and pieces'. Also, see Ken's note above.