All About Props

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael Snow

Reaction score
I'm NOT an expert, but I've seen a lot of questions, so I'm going to try my best.

Most Nitros are going to have Mercury engines. As such, I'll discuss the three Quicksilver props you probably have: Tempest Plus, Trophy Plus, and High Five. All are stainless steel props and I'll be discussing v-6 motors (150hp and up).

The Tempest Plus is a 3 blade prop with PVS plugs (more on those later). It has good bow lift and good top end. You'll typically gain 1-3mph on top end, but holeshot will be less than a 4 or 5 blade prop.

The Trophy Plus is a 4 blade prop with PVS plugs. The freshwater models come only in a small tube (or hub) size. On the larger v-6 models, the diameter of the outside of the prop's center "hub" is smaller than the diameter of the lower unit housing that the prop shaft comes out of. This makes the prop act more like an over-hub exhaust than a through-hub exhaust (see Cavitation Ring later). It will give you better holeshot than a Tempest Plus and a little lower top end speed. If you have a heavy boat, this is probably your best "all around" prop.

The High Five prop has 5 blades and is great for holeshot. Again, you'll have a little lower top end speed than the Tempest or Trophy. I've never used one, so that's the best I can give you on it. It's probably the prop you want if you're going to pull skiers on a bass boat.