170DC motor height

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Hammons

Reaction score
Can anyone tell me what there motor height is set at. Mine is 6 5/8 and I think it is causing me alot of problems being that deep. Everything I can find says 4 1/2 up to around three. Someone point me in the right direction pleasse. Thanks:wacko:

Welcome to the worlds best web site. My question is where are you measureing from? I am not an expert but I think it's supposed to be from the center of the prop shaft to bottom of the pad? Also what are your issues and what engine size and prop are you running?

The more info you post the better the reply..

BF

Welcome to the board.

What motor do you have on it?

I have a 1993 170 with a 90 Johnson and my motor sits right on the transom.

John

Boat setup is cause and effect, and everything that revolves around that.

"My motor height is too low"

Maybe, maybe not.

Effect of too low: no roostertail, chine walk, rpms too low, speed not appropriate.

Effect of too high: lack of water pressure, high roostertail, wheel torque, lack of lift.

Every boat/motor/load is different, and small adjustments can make large differences.

So, the question really is, what are your current results? Then you can look at what needs to be adjusted or changed, to achieve desired results.

It is a 94 170DC with a 93 115 Evinrude 20" shaft. I leveled the pad, then i leveled the cavitation plate. Measured both to floor. Measurement from center of hub to pad is 6 5/8. The motor is in the very top hole so it is set as deep as it will go.