Wookiee is still a bit confused

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Shenton

Reaction score
I can't seem to find any info on the aproximate range or MPG of a boat based on motor and boat size. I understand that this is very subjective. I am also confused about the gunnel height. It seems to me that a model such as the Tournament V-18 has good qualities for both but bass boats have very short gunnels. Furthermore, I am concerned whether the D-V hull will draw too much water for bassing and shallow sound fishing. I have had some experience when I was younger. I grew up on the bay, just never on my "own" boat. I am looking for a boat with a solid 25 - 30 mile range, that I can fly fish for bass, pike, sea trout, stripers, blues etc. And if possible, troll the bay, sound, and perhaps the beaches (on a REAL calm day). All in a package under 2000 lbs. Am I crazy?

EASILY a 30 mile range!

I've fished from MOFish's TV-18 on a small lake and it was fine in shallow water.

I used my old Nitro 180 in the Gulf of Mexico on calm days and didn't have a problem. Marke and Andy Z use their TV-18's in the Great Lakes.

The TV-18 will easily meet your needs in the bay and along the shores - as long as you use common sense when you go out there.

I assure you, you will be happy!

me!

Not to PO the TV18 guys but, really it's not a "true" Deep V...even though it sells under a DV. It's got a shorter depth than say a Targa 18 but, flattens out in the back. Deep V's don't that much...

TEE

Wookie:

Here's the formula for calculating MPG and range for a boat with a carburated, 2-stroke motor:

Maximum rated horsepower of the outboard (HP)

Times (x)

Ten percent (.10)

equals rate of fuel consumption in gallons per hour(GPH)

So, my boat's 150 h.p. carbed outboard will burn 15 gallons per hour (150 x .10 = 15) at Wide Open Throttle (WOT).