Torqueing Right

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff Windham

Reaction score
Is this normal? I'm a novice boat owner/operator. I have a Z6 w/ 115 optimax w/ a 21P powertech prop(This prop has a little wider and thicker plades with added cup than a stock laser 2) maybe thats where the added right torqueing Is? My motor is 4 3/4" below the pad. No hydrofoil. On hole shot I'm turning 3000 rpm's and at WOT I'm 5500 rpm's and 48 mph on a gps.

While trolling I straighten the boat put the hammer down and here we go. As the boat is coming up its torqueing (pulling)preety good to the right. If I turn left to correct boat left side dips down inward a little so now I'm coming on plane in a left turn mode. I've tried not turning left and I'll get on plane but my boat will almost be 45 degrees from where I was headed. Am I doing something wrong here.

Sounds as though you might need to adjust your trim tab to the right if it's pulling to the right I believe but not much, is your skeg Ok or does it have a bend to right or left, should be straight and no nicks...... it's certainly not the norm and could be dangerous..... Just as info if your not sure, the trim tab is center above your prop, loosen bolt and you can turn to right or left, it's kinda trail and error and something you should do at the dock so you can adjust and check on the water..... Maybe someone will chime in also but I think if your boat pulls right then adjust it to the right and visa versa...good luck....

There's about a million posts on here about this, many are Z6 with 115 Opti's. I have a Z6 with 115 Opti, 22 Laser2, SE 300, trim tab full to the right(back of the tab), standard single cable steering and if you have a look in my library you'll see the engine height.