September 11th Remebered

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greg Meyer

Reaction score
The eve of September 11th, 2001 was of little significance to most Americans and virtually all of the rest of the world. The eve of September 11th, 2002 finds us all changed. As many of you know I am a retired police officer. That day, a few hours short of a year ago, left a lasting impression of what true heroism means. The common man doing uncommon things in the face of mind numbing terror is what I remember most. The New York Port Authority Police lost over 30 Officers that day in a few seconds. That is the single largest loss of life by any police department in America. Hundreds of New York Firefighters died doing what they all do best...serving and saving their fellow man. The New York Police Deapartment suffered tremendously from their losses. And the thousands of others who lost their lives in a senseless act of insane violence are also to be remembered. But, from all of the tragedy and horror...there are hundreds of stories of heroism and triumph over impossible odds. The miracles performed by rescuers digging with their hands through that rubble to find a precious few survivors. The stories of uncommon courage became almost common... There are hundreds and hundreds of individual stories of tragedy and triumph. But, above all, at least for me is the unfolding story of the passengers of Flight 93... I do believe that if we are to show any face to the rest of the world, friends and enemies alike...let them see the face of Todd Beamer...who said the Lords Prayer and then fought back against the highjackers so that they would not do more evil... Let's all remember what it meant when he said; "Let's Roll". May God Bless them all, the victims, the heroes, and their families...and may God Bless this country and her citizens, far into the future. And to mny falle