keelshield

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ed Rife

Reaction score
Im going to put the keelshield on tomorrow.

It says to go around the edges with marine sealent, what brand and how would you apply it?

Just go around the edges?

I talked to a lady at Keelshield Toxic said on fiberglass not to worry about sealing it...What do you reccomend?

Ed, mine has been installed on my 640TF for 5 years. No sealent. I am no expert on it, but I just don't see why it would be needed. Those things stick so good, nothing can get past the glue. Good luck.

Bubby:)

Ed....not trying to hijack your thread but did you catch any fish last time out?? and I would think they are saying after the install do the sealant but things tend to stick to fiberglass pretty easy....

Yea Mike I caught a few large mouth on a gitzit shad colored grub 2.5 inches long.

Fish where 14-17 inch range..There plenty of fish in Flannagan Resivoir the lake is clear you can see 20 feet strait down most of the lake2 or 3 creeks that have some color.

I caught all the fish at the Dam in clear water.The people that fish it Mike say it's a night fishing lake with big Smallies and Walleye..I love the place..I was going to go tomorrow but cant get any body to go with me so I started my install tonight I bought a 550 Humminbird for the bow and I got it mounted tonight and I'll probably finsh up in the morning and heat the Garage and Hull up and put the keelshield on...Maybe fish Sunday.

I called K&S and they told me on paint and Aluminum they would use a marine sealer on the keelshield after install but on Fiberglass I didnt need too..I didnt talk to them untill I had allready made the post about it. You guys are great I appreciate the input Mike that you and all the other guys give me..Maybe this coming Summer we can get together and fish a day or two.