Help with trailer lighting

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Britt

Reaction score
Guys,

I'm new to boating and not really mechanically inclined, but yesterday my trailer lights worked fine and today... nothing. Not even a peep. First time I've had trouble with the trailer lights and the lights on the truck work, so I don't think its a blown fuse or anything from that part of the package.

I would appreciate any help or wise suggestions.

Most problems I have ever had with the trailer wiring was a bad ground or corroded connections. Make sure your plug-ins on the vehicle and trailer are clean. Also check your ground connections on the vehicle and trailer normally the white wires. Need to have a clean connection here.

Also make sure there is not a broken wire or a corroded connections of the wiring harness to the vehicle and or the trailer.

To check these properly you will need a test light or voltmeter or good eyes. Which I no longer have. Just an age thing. lol

Prob a ground problem. Check the connector at the hitch. If it seems to be ok there then check the harness under your truck that leads to the Boat. One quick way to figure if it is your Trucks prob or the Trailer is to hook up to a Buddies Trailer and see if it works then. If you have a lot of Rust built up in the Ball connector then you can lose your ground. Also, if you have a lot of Build up on the Ball itself then it can give you a bad ground as well. Hope this helps..

Max

There is a white wire laying on the ground that is not directly connected to the prong plugged into the back of the truck. Any idea where it goes? I don't think it was plugged into anything before.