1996 170 DC RC Water Leak

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shane Jenson

Reaction score
Hi all,

I just picked up a 1996 Nitro 170 this weekend. I've never owned a bass boat before, only runabouts. I noticed that when moving, I could turn the bilge on every 5 minutes or so and a solid stream would come out for maybe 30 seconds. When the boat was floating at the dock, or beached, it did not take on any water at all that I could see in the bilge area. Any ideas as to what could be the cause? Is there something in the livewell system that would be letting water in at speed? I've never used one of these before. thanks in advance for your help.

Shane

I got the same boat and the same problem. Sometimes when I pull the drain plug a steady stream will run out for a few seconds and other times it will be dry.

How long have you had the boat? I don't see any hull cracks on mine, and there is no leak when floating still, so this is really perplexing me.

Not sure what this hull looks like, but could you be taking in water over the transom when you come off plane? Soem hulls are worse than others about this, if it does all you can do is feather the throttle as you come off plane unitl you get a feel for it.

My 170DC with a 115 would back wash when stopping, just watch, goose a little, always had some drainage after removing from water, no problem.

cq

Water could be getting in a number of ways...

Backwash when coming to a stop

Coming in under the rub rail when under way

Leaking aerator hose/cracked pump housing