Winterizing

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juliomjr1

Reaction score
Hi! I heard Mercury outboards don't need to be winterized but not sure I believe that. I live in the Chicago area and it's my first year with my boat. Do I need to winterize and if so, how is that done? Mine is a 2003 Mercury 115 that came with my 2003 Tracker Versa18. Thank you!

There is winterizing and there is maintenance. Winterization is required regardless of brand or whether it's an inboard or outboard. It addresses the concern of freezing water expanding and breaking things as well as the fact that the boat will be sitting for a long period without use. And, given you are working on the motor, it's a perfect time to do routine maintenance, so people usually do them together. I'm not much of a motor head, so I tend to error on the side of a thorough maintenance routine every year, even though others may argue you don't need to do all the items on the list yearly, or it's based on the hours of use over the boating season. I had 2 Yamaha motors that both lasted over 20 years with exactly zero issues, so I'm sticking to my yearly process with my newer Mercury.

My list:

Winterization -
  • Treat the fuel with Stabil of Seafoam. There is some debate as to whether you should leave gas in the tank or not. You can search google for the debates. Either way you want to make sure that you treat the gas and turn it over to get the treated gas into to the system. Side note, you should not run the engine for more than a couple of seconds without connecting water for cooling as well as lubricating the impeller. You should use a set of rabbit ears and a hose.