Smokin'

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edward Lea.

Reaction score
Hey everyone. The smokers going with the big pork roast and some whole chikens. I am not a pro smoker by any stretch. We fire up the smoker 3 maybe 4 times a year. I was picking up charcoal yesterday and they had hardwood LUMP charcoal so I got that to try it out. I gotta tell you kingsford is out of business at our house. This LUMP stuff really is superior. :D I am not having any trouble hold the temp steady at all. In the past it was a all day struggle with the little charcoal to hold the temp, this lump stuff just holds the temp dead steady. Man this is really a much more enjoyable day with this LUMP hardwood charcoal. For all you part time smokers out there if you haven't tried it you have gotta give it a try. Now all I gotta do is sit here and smell the smoker and the homemade Sundried Tomato/Asiago cheese bread baking in the kitchen oven, it is going to be a great supper. Hope you all have a good holiday weekend.

Ed,

You used the real-deal! Real hardwood charcoal is definately the way to go. I use Cowboy brand myself (only brand available) and only use the Kingsford when I want to grill some 'burgers or 'dogs. For steaks, chicken, turkey, pork or fish (yes I said "fish") it's the good stuff. My grill manufacturer (Primo) recommends to only use a natural lump charcoal. Labor Day weekend called for heavy smoker usage to: Ribs, chicken and steaks! Try some of the flavoring woods to like some Mesquite for chicken or Hickory for beef and pork.

Greg Walters at Humminbird

I will have to give those a try Greg. When the day was done I only used 1/3 the charcoal I usually use.