Sluggish Holeshot

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary Fish

Reaction score
Hello all..

Last year, we bought a 640lx with a 60hp four stroke. When we were considering our options, speed was not the priority. Instead, we were looking for a light weight boat that was easy to load and maneauver. Our priorities have not changed and we love our boat!

The problem...with the low torque of a four stroke engine, it takes forever to plane out. We tried changing the prop from a 13 pitch to an 11 pitch. With the 11 pitch, it planes out nicely but our speed has dropped from 35 to 25 mph. Okay...speed is not my priority, but this is a pretty big sacrifice for a better holeshot.

In my other life, I am a private pilot. In the world of aviation, achieving the correct "weight and balance" is essential. Has anyone tried adding weight to the front end of the boat to improve the balance??? It looks like I could easily add a couple of 25 lb. balasts (lead shot in a bag) in the front end of the storage boxes. Is there a drawback to this approach other than limiting the total amout of weight I can carry? Will it improve the holeshot?

The other option I am considering is adding a hydrofoil. Any success stories with these???

Appreciate any constructive comments you may have.

Thanks,

gfish

Gotta go with the "dolefin" or hydrofoil...

I think the 60 HP is anemic for the 640. I'm not sure what you're expecting for a hole shot. However, once the hole shot is over, why would you want to carry an extra 50 pounds of lead around?

Thanks for the comments.

The last time out, I ran the 11 pitch prop. It would easily redline @ 6,000 rpms if I allowed it to do so. With the 11 pitch prop, it takes around 4-5 seconds to plane with a top end around 25 mph. With the 13 pitch prop, it takes 10-12 seconds to plane with a top end around 35 mph.