Well it's official....I'm an officer!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob LaMoy

Reaction score
Well almost 3 years later, 8 weeks of "intense" training, depending on who you ask, and I am now a NY state peace officer, ie Correction Officer.

A quick little overview.

We started with 33 in the Alpha session (my group, last names A-M) and 37 in Bravo, our sister session (last names N-Z). We lost 2 and Bravo lost 8 or 9. Personally, I wish we had lost about 5-6 more.

On week 3, weapons week I got there feeling very.....odd. By day 2 (Tuesday) I knew I was in for a whopper of a "cold". I wish it was only a cold. That was qualification day with the dept revolver. As the day wore on, I could feel my body shutting down quickly. Regardless, during practice, I shot a perfect 250 out of 250, the only in my session. But because it was practice, the WTO (weapons training officer) would not count it. I had to wait for the first line to qualify, then lunch, (which I could eat very little of, the last I would eat for almost 3 days), then I qualified. Breathing control and sight alignment are two critical parts of accuracy. I couldn't breath at all as my lungs were filling with fluid (see where this is going now?) and my fever has spiked at about 104. But I still shot a 247 of 250....twice, tieing for the high score of my class. My WTO had no doubt afterwards, had I not been so ill, I would have taken the marksmanship award for the entire class which eventually went to a Bravo officer with a 249.