STAINLESS STEEL PROP RUSTING

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DONAOL

Reaction score
Have about 24 hrs on my 2021 Mercury 150 4 stroke and just noticed the prop rusting inside the housing. Tracker service tech said this is normal. Mercury states the same. Anyone seen this before. Thanks for all the suggestions.

Attachments

• IMG_6085.JPG
    IMG_6085.JPG
    101.2 KB · Views: 90
  • IMG_6086.JPG
    IMG_6086.JPG
    116.6 KB · Views: 84
Have about 24 hrs on my 2021 Mercury 150 4 stroke and just noticed the prop rusting inside the housing. Tracker service tech said this is normal. Mercury states the same. Anyone seen this before? Or am I being fed a line of B.S.
This made me go out and look at mine! I am no prop expert but have had multiple boats and motors with stainless props and never seen this. It almost looks like heat discoloration rather than rust though, either way it does not look NORMAL. Good luck getting any satisfaction from factory reps, seems they just want to sell boats, not very interested in customer satisfaction.

That looks more like a bad plating process. Never seen stainless to show surface corrosion. Did you try rubbing with steel wool to see if it just surface or deeper. If deeper you may have a problem

I think someone swapped props on you. The discoloration line almost looks like an ear has had a welded repair. No way a 2021 SS prop looks like that.

That looks more like a bad plating process. Never seen stainless to show surface corrosion. Did you try rubbing with steel wool to see if it just surface or deeper. If deeper you may have a problem
Told me to use WD-40 and steel wool.

I think someone swapped props on you. The discoloration line almost looks like an ear has had a welded repair. No way a 2021 SS prop looks like that.
Were would I go to find out if it's been repaired or defective?