power pro line

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gene B

Reaction score
Anyone use Power Pro on a baitcasting reel, or is it like most other braids that will imbed itself in the line on the spool and make the next cast backlash? I'm going to try it on a couple spinning rods, just not sure if I shoould waste it on a baitcaster.

Gene

I started using last year, I even use it on a spinning for shottin, works really well on both so far:D

I've used it for several years only on baitcast and have never had that experiance. I f you ajust your drag and braking for the line , you should be fine. I use it primarely for flippin or pitch'n into heavy cover or were you you need to bust through with 1/2 to 1 oz. weight. I think its great but you have to be careful setting the hook.

I'm no expert other than in my mind! :lol:

Mark

I've used 30# PP for years for pitching and flipping and just last year I added a rod with 45# for fishing frogs and rattletraps in the weeds. PP is round so it won't embed itself as bad as other flat braids. The only time I experience what you're talking about is when I set the hook on a tree stump but then I know to pull off a little line to make everything okay for the retrieve...no big deal. The other little quirk with any braided line that is annoying is that in the wind it will get wrapped around your rod tip. You just have to be conscious of it and shake it out before you cast. The good news is you will feel every fish fart and you'll be able to retrieve about 99% of your hangups and one spool lasts a lifetime.