Nx882 Nitro With Mercury 150 Hp Xr6 Motor""someone Help""!!!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulbritt43

Reaction score
I HAVE A NITRO NX882 WITH MERCURY 150 XR6. I HAVE BEEN ASKING THIS QUESTION NOW FOR 3-4 YRS. WITH NO CLEAR ANSWER. IN THE BOAT, 2 BATTERIES IN BACK, 2 GUYS N GEAR, GAS, AND FOR SURE IF LIVEWELL HAS WATER IN IT.........THIS BOAT IS SOOOOO SLUGGISH COMING OUT OF THE HOLE I JUST HAVE TO BELIEVE SUMTN IS NOT RIGHT!!! BUT, 2 DIFFERENT MARINE MECHANICS HAVE TOLD ME THE MOTOR IS AT THE PERFECT HEIGHT WHERE IT SHOULD BE!! BUT, IVE SEEN OTHER 882'S WITH THE MOTORS RAISED UP ATLEAST 2-3 INCHES HIGHER THAN MINE, SO WHAT'S RIGHT AND WHAT'S WRONG???? AND, WHEN THE BOAT IS SITTING IN MY GARAGE LEVEL, THE MOTOR WILL NOT TRIM ALL THE WAY DOWN, CATCHES IN THE CONCRETE !!! SO, ARE THE 2 GUYS TELLING ME TRUE, OR DOES THE MOTOR NEED RAISING A BIT??? IT HAS THE FACTORY 6" JACKPLATE ON IT AS WELL. THE VERY TOP OF THE MOTOR BRACKET SITS ABOUT 1 INCH ABOVE THE EDGE OF SPLASH WELL. AND THE WAY IT IS, ALL THE HOSES AND CABLES, ETC. ARE SO CROWDED IN THE SPLASH WELL AND IS RUBBING BLACK SPOTS IN IT WHERE THEY RUB!! IT HAS THE FACTORY 23 PITCH SS PROP ON MOTOR TOO. I WAS TOLD THAT'S THE PROP THAT GOES WITH THE BOAT, SO I'M LOST !!! HOW DO YOU TELL WHEN AN OUTBOARD NEEDS RAISING??? WHAT ADVANTAGES WILL IT MAKE IN THE WATER?? WILL IT FIX THE SLUGGISH HOLESHOT??? WHAT ABOUT THE SPEED??? ANYBODY WHO KNOWS THESE ANSWERS PLZZZZZ RESPOND AND TELL ME HOW TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. CONTACT ME ......ILL GET THE MESSAGE ALOT QUICKER. PLZZZZ SOMEONE GIMME KNOWLEDGE AND ADVICE.......I'VE RIDEN IN OTHER BOATS 18 FT WITH A 150 HP MOTOR AND THEY JUMP OUT OF THE HOLE...........AND KNOWLEDGE GREATLY APPRECIATED.........THNXXXXXX ALOT.

Last edited by a moderator: