Nitro Boat Problems

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lil John SVT

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I came here in search of some serious help. I recently bought a 2006 Nitro 700 LX boat with a 75 Mercury with a 22 pitch three blade ss prop on it. Boat is excellent condition. I took it out for the first time and it was a disaster. Now I will say this, I'm far from a boating expert. So at this point I'm clueless and sick that a new to me boat is doing to this. Plus it's to late to take the deal back. Anyways here's the problems, bare with me.
From a slow cruising speed, when I open it up to get on plane, the boat almost want to turn over to the left. I mean to the point my wife is in the seat with me. Yes it's that bad. But once it planes off and I trim it a little it levels off. But if I trim the boat anywhere close to half way on the gauge, the boat starts porposing terrible. To the point I have to get out the throttle completely. I can only run the boat with the trim gauge right past a quarter ways. Which still has most of the boat in the water. And once I do get it leveled off somewhat, the steering is so sensitive til it scrares me. I mean any little moment and the boat is everywhere. This isn't right I know it. My other boat a 1999 tide raft V15 with a 90 Nissan is so smooth both out the hole and running wide open. But the nitro boat is so bad both me and my wife are scared to use it. I did notice that the motor is on the third hole down on the mounting bolts. But you can see where it was on the first hole at some point which would have put the motor further in the water. I noticed also it will turn to the left very easy. But to the right, I need a football field or be almost dead stopped. I'm at a lost right now with the boat.