New to boating

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevelo85

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
After reading countless threads I have determined that this is an amazing group of people that do not judge and are extremely helpful. With that being said I am new to boating as I grew up in Southern Arizona and I now live in East Texas with plenty of lakes around so I found a somewhat cheap used boat. I have a 1986 Fish and Ski with a 1988 Mercury 150hp outboard. So my question is how to I tell what model boat I have? Also the guy I bought something about having to mix oil and gas like I would in my weed whacker. I need help, I am unsure of the exact specifications of my outboard to know if its a 2 stroke or 4 stroke if I need to do a fuel mixture etc.

Attachments

• 20200722_134000.jpg
    20200722_134000.jpg
    523.5 KB · Views: 19
Welcome to the forum!
Your 1988 Mercury would be a two-stroke engine. It wasn't until the late 90s that 4-stroke outboard engines hit the market.
The fuel oil ratio is typically 50 parts fuel to 1 part oil. Mercury Fuel:Oil. Make sure you use only two stroke oil like Mercury Quicksilver. You can find it at WalMart.
You may consider having a reputable boat mechanic check the engine out, an inspection of general maintenance issues: water pump performance, fuel line condition, fuel filter, gear oil change, etc. Also the trailer tires and wheel bearings.
Vic

Hi everyone,