New Boat

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ranger 519

Reaction score
The wife finally gave in, I plan to buy my first boat within the next couple of weeks and have decided on a Nitro or Tracker. My top three are the Nitro 750NX DC w/Mercury 115, Nitro 700LX DC w/Mercury 90 and the Tracker Pro Team 175 w/Mercury 50. My favorite is the 750NX DC.

I'll try to keep this short but I realize I need to provide you guys with some background if you are to help me so here is my situation.

Been fishing for 25 plus years mostly banks and a couple times per year from a friends boat. I have very little experience managing and handling a boat. I will be fishing mostly by myself (My job is more flexible than fishing friends) but my wife or a friend will join me occasionally. My family and I do not enjoy recreational boating so if I am on the water I am fishing. Must be able to store boat in my garage which is three car...very strict HOA. I would like to do some tournament fishing and will eventually join a fishing club in my area. Price of boat is not a major consideration but I am only considering boats under 18' due to factors above.

I like the look of glass but should I go with tin for my first boat? If I went with glass, 750NX or 700LX, should I move to the smaller 700LX?

I realize there is an ongoing debate on glass vs. tin but if your situation was identical to mine, what would you do? Also, if you think I should be going in a different direction for my first boat please share your thoughts.

Greg, I'm a tin owner,(2002 pro Deep V 16), went with tin as my first new boat, for many reasons, and am happy with it, when the day comes to buy another new boat, it'll be a Tracker or Nitro, not sure which. I don't want this thread to slide into a tin vs. glass debate, ALL 3 models you're looking at are great boats, and all 3 I'm sure would serve you well.