Livewell drain Z18 2020

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael Beal

Reaction score
I am new to bass boats but not new to fishing, I have a question on the drain at the bottom of the livewell, does this drain into the hull of the boat? Is there a way to keep the livewell dry? I don’t fish tournaments and do catch and release, the live well will takes on 3-6” water every time I put the boat in and I suspect that is from the screen intake on the back of the boat. I recently noticed more water in the hull after I use the boat and wondering where that water could be coming in from? That being said the water in the livewell does not seem to drain out until I pump out once the boat is raised on the lift. that little bit of water does not drain out and will be there next weekend.

My concern is the amount of water I pump out of the hull, I checked the drain and it is fitting tight, it Pumped out a fair bit of water for 30-40 seconds

thanks

020C0A45-347F-4722-92A5-D3F79B581A86.jpeg

your livewell has an overflow drain which is connected to a port on the stern. when you put the motor in reverse water can/will flow up this drain an into the livewell but if you leave the valve on the starboard side of the boat next to the driver's seat the livewell will drain & not fill up. I'm not aware of any way to keep that small amount of water in the bottom of the livewell out unless you never go in reverse. The live well does not drain into the bilge so there should be no issue with that small amount of water in the drain lines

I know your pain. I too was hoping to be able to use my Z18 livewells as "dry space" storage. Whatever I tried there was always some water getting in. The only thing I haven't tried yet is to make an external plug for the overflow exit hole on the transom.