Hello All...newbie Here!

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim Smith

Reaction score
Hello Board,

I am in Youngstown, Ohio and I just purchased my 1st boat. It's a 2000 Nitro 185. My parents always had boats, but this is my 1st time being the owner. Yea me!

I have NO experience with outboard motors, my Dad's was an inboard Century with a 454 engine. Extremely LOUD, fast and a P.I.T.A. to work on. I'm trying to learn the best positions for the outboard for quick take off (pulling skier) and how to level faster. The boat seems sluggish when taking off from a dead stop. Granted I was used to the "beast" my Dad had, but this seems like it is laboring to "get out of the hole".

Ski Pylon set up is another thing. I'm not exactly sure how/where the Pylon is set up. If anyone has some pics they could include I'd appreciate it.

Also any advise as far as waxing. Especially how to get the complete hull when on the trailer. Short of having a left, I have no idea how to get at those spots.

Finally, please be nice, I'm learning here!

Hi, Jim. Welcome and congrats on the new (to you) boat.

You didn't mention which motor. Merc 115? 125? 150?

Regarding hole shot performance. Usually, the best trim position for takeoff is all the way down, or very close to it. As soon as the boat starts to climb on plane, you should be trimming higher. Takes a bit of practice to find optimum.