? for Greg

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob LaMoy

Reaction score
You sure are a popular guy. That's what makes this site awesome....the resources available like Bob and Greg and others.

I have a new 798 in the box. Reading all about these updates, do I need to update anything on it, when I install it this spring? I am NOT good with computers. These posts and my marine electronics are the extent of my PC literacy! I got excited when I figured out how to put attachments on my e-mails!

What does this update do? I don't want to mess up my brand new unit.

I was looking forward to repping H'bird at nationals in March by wearing at least my hat, but regs clearly state I CANNOT wear any logos of companies that conflict with FLW sponsors. I wish that since they use Minn Kota trolling motors (another Johnson outdoor product) that they would also use Humminbird graphs rather than Lowrance.

I was a Lowrance man for years, but their quality and customer service has gone to the wayside in recent years.

To me, trying to make the jump to fishing for a living, reliability and service are the key factors. I pay more for H'birds than I would for Lowrance, but it's worth every penny. Plus I tend to like the side imaging picture better on birds. Just a personal preference.

I would install the unit, power it up, and check what version came from factory. When you register the product (if you haven't already), your "account/profile" will list your equipment and offer a link for "upgrades". Unless the number of the upgrade version is higher than the number on the factory version, you are up to date.