1. Welcome to Nitro & Tracker Owners! Join today, registration is easy!

    You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Elite 7 Question

Thread in 'Marine Electronics' started by fatrap, May 21, 2016.

  1. fatrap

    fatrap Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Location:
    Underwood Iowa
    Anyone have a Lowrance Elite 7 HDI? Mine five year old unit has started turning itself off and on leaving the message box that reads Do not rely on this product as your primary source of navigation ... press Enter to continue. Does it about once and hour or more. I've installed update #4 a while ago. Going to call Lowrance Monday.

    fatrap
    aka
    Mike Grandick
     
  2. Bill Kyte

    Bill Kyte Active Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Location:
    Waldorf
    I just got a 5 and it shows that like all the other ones I've seen on start up only. Are you having battery voltage issues? My buddies HDS 10 started that every time he started big motor and it was fixed with a new battery. Corrosion on terminals┬┐
     
  3. fatrap

    fatrap Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Location:
    Underwood Iowa
    Brand new starting battery. Lowrance says it's normal. But l updated to version 4.0 and did a hard restart. Now I need to try it.
    fatrap
    aka
    Mike Grandick
     
  4. Kirby Wilson

    Kirby Wilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    I have one and it shuts down once or twice a day. Restarts fine. Just agervating. Had this one for 3 years now.
     
  5. fatrap

    fatrap Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Location:
    Underwood Iowa
    Running fine now with the update and hard restart. Also found out that I wasn't running my Navionics card but the Lowrance one that came with it. Much better detail with the Navinics but slower to update and lock on position.
     
  6. Ray Steele

    Ray Steele Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    south carolina
    The delay in refreshing when using the Navionics card is a know problem. I had an early vintage Elite 7 and the delay was a minute or more. The Chart screen would go blank each time I hit the zoom button and it took a minute or more to refresh. Did the same thing when running and the cursor was nearing the edge of the map, when the screen refreshed it was blank for a minute. That is a long time to be flying blind.
    Lawrence finally threw in the towel and swapped me out an HDS 7 touchscreen. That is one slick dude. A couple of releases after I traded mine I understood they had fixed the problem on the Elite.
    I would stay on their case to get it fixed.
     

Share This Page