Electrical Problem - Possibly Ignition

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Welch Edward

Reaction score
Hello Everyone:

I recently purchased a 1999 Nitro 175 Sport with a 2000 Mercury 90HP 2 cycle motor. During the initial voyage I discovered a few issues that I need a little help solving. Given the age of this boat - I was expecting a few little problems. Although this is the first boat I've owned, I've spent a little time around boats so I'm not a complete novice nor am I anywhere near experienced.

Issues discovered during 1st time on the water:

1) When I turn the ignition to the "on" position - I sometimes hear a constant high-pitched noise (very loud) - NOT a constant interval noise as I've read other's describe that usually refers to an "oil alarm" of some type. Again, this only happens about half the time I turn the ignition to the "on" position. When I do hear this high pitched - continuous noise - the fuel gauge works and power is advanced to the depth finder. When I don't hear the high-pitched noise - the fuel gauge does not work and no power is advanced to the depth finder. Either way, when I go ahead and turn the ignition to start the motor - the noise quits, the fuel gauge stops working and no power is advanced to the depth finder. Anyone have any idea what could be happening with this? I don't know what should be normal in this situation.

2) Although the motor pumps a hard, steady stream of water from the outlet when running, the gauge shows water pressure to only be around 15. Looking at the gauge, it seems to be a little below the normal range. Anyone know if this gauge is usually accurate or what normal should be?

3) The motor starts and runs pretty well- especially at higher rpms. However, I do plan to change the plugs out soon. I purchased the NGK BUHW-2 spark plugs but I need to know what the gap should be?