Black Powder Revolver

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cq

Reaction score
Looking at purchasing a black powder revolver, not for hunting but just to shoot. I have read many articles on inexpensive to high dollar, brass and steel, being a beginner I am leaning toward an inexpensive steel for my first one.
Now you can beat me up.

cq

My wife's brother-n-law has one. It's a revolver. He uses it for small game and for plinking. He loves it.
Barry from La.

When I worked for BAss Pro we had CVA pistol kits. They contained a revolver and most the equipment to shoot it. Sans powder and caps. Pretty inexpensive. Brass Frames. You can step up to Some custom Army/Navy revolvers but for a lot more money. They don't require a permit to aquire or carry to buy. No 4473 form or NCIS check either.

fatrap

cq,
In a blackpowder revolver, like most everything else, you get what you pay for. The inexpensive kits work, but the lock up and function aren't nearly as smooth as the higher dollar models. I've taken apart a few and cleaned them for others who were having difficulty getting them to cycle properly. Even spotless, with very few shots through them, they still weren't very smooth.

If I were going to get one, I'd probably look at the Uberti's over the Traditions / Pietta brands of revolvers. Uberti seems to get higher reviews, although I'd still want to handle one prior to buying. 1858 Remington is the model I'm most interested in ($320 - $460 price range at Midway, depending on the model, and I'm leaning towards the baseline model for $320)