Basic Equipment Needed for Bass Fishing

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jay Plummer

Reaction score
Before everyone leaves to have fun....can I get some ideas on what you would buy to get started bass fishing. I am looking for rods, tackle, baits and any other necessities. I am completely new to this and would be interested to see the different suggestions. Also, approximate cost to get started with this equipment would be helpful. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Jay

Bleach and dynamite.....lots of it! LOL Really it all depends on how much you want to spend. You could drop $5k at the bat of an eye and still find things you "need". Getting started you want a 1/2 dozen quality rod and reel combos. A couple baitcasters on med action, couple on med/heavy, and a couple spinning rigs on med rods. A range of line from 6lb to 20 lb depending on where and how you're fishing. Baits, well what every basser should have is a healthy assortment of the following

Spinner baits, crankbaits, jerkbaits, top water, jigs, and soft plastics including grubs, tubes, worms, chunk trailers soft jerkbaits etc. Play around until you find baits you have confidence in and then expand on that. Stop by BPS in Auburn Hills when Ken gets back and he'll set you up proper!

Maybe I should have given a spending limit!! I am looking to spend about $200 or so for the basics to get started realizing it will just increase from there. I don't think the wife will go for 5k Rob...although that would be fun.

Jay

2 Rod and Reel sets. (1 Medium Heavy Rod, 1 Medium Rod) Baitcast or SpinCast, your choice. You can get good "Bass Pro" rods at BPS for around 40-50 that will last you a long time. Reels, about the same.

Get yourself a handful of Bandit Crankbaits (200 and 300 series in basic colors)