Asking for the Benefit of Your Experience – Transom Transducer Installation

Nitro Owners Forum

Help Support Nitro Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm installing a Humminbird Helix 7 at the console of my 1999 700 LX. I have had the same unit at the bow with a trolling motor transducer for the last two seasons. Installation was easy. This will be my first time installing a transom mounted transducer. The previous unit at the console had a shoot through hull installation, which I did not install. I'm going to continue using that unit for navigation only. The Helix is a G3 Mega SI/DI. If I follow the installation instructions that come with the unit, I think I'll be fine. I've watched many YouTube installation videos as well. I am going to install a Stern Saver first in case I have to adjust the position once installed. My question is, since this is my first time installing a transducer at the transom, is there anything you all can offer as to pitfalls to avoid, tips, tricks, hacks, running wires, control head power considerations, etc., for making sure the positioning and installation of the transducer goes well? I have a plan for mounting the control head already figured out. Thanks in advance.